Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: Just another idle video....and new wheels.

  1. #1
    Registered Member Evil87GN's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    on the west side of J-ville, FL.
    Posts
    2,802
    vCash
    500

    Just another idle video....and new wheels.

    Just a quick little idle vid of the ol Scat Pack. It's best if you listen to it with headphones or other speaker than can punch out some decent bass, as she was thumping a bit...lol. I also swapped out the stock wheels for some AR Torque Thrusts 20x8.5 fronts/20x10 rears. Put the old Atturo 275/40's up front, and 285/40 NT420S out back (came on the wheels).


  2. #2
    Registered Member Gearhead SS's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    DFW, TX
    Posts
    42,063
    vCash
    76
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: Gearhead SS PSN ID: MorphWS6 XFIRE ID: MorphWS6
    Sounds good. Not a fan of the wheels though.

  3. #3
    Oh I think they like me Tunavelli's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Sussex, WI
    Posts
    32,356
    Blog Entries
    1
    vCash
    7170
    How many more miles do you need before you can beat on it some?

  4. #4
    Registered Member Evil87GN's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    on the west side of J-ville, FL.
    Posts
    2,802
    vCash
    500
    Quote Originally Posted by Tunavelli View Post
    How many more miles do you need before you can beat on it some?
    I've started beating on it a little here and there, but haven't gone whole ham yet. Only have about 650-700 miles on the new engine, so she's getting prodded a bit on occasion. Once I get her to 1K miles and do another oil change, it's go time. My wideband AEM came in a few days ago, so that will be going in soon. Then I can start logging A/F and we can start dialing in the tune. I'm anxious to put the spurs to her and see what she's got, so restraining myself is killing me...lol.

  5. #5
    Bugzapper gonna zap 5.0THIS's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    36,628
    vCash
    510
    So when is boost going on? I still can’t imagine doing an entire rebuild for just a cam.

  6. #6
    SPECIAL DARK HOTCIVIC's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    KFC
    Posts
    24,614
    vCash
    3000
    Sounds good

  7. #7
    All cops everywhere suck Det.Rice's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Killadelphia
    Posts
    15,734
    vCash
    3530
    Sounds awesome.... wheel though?

  8. #8
    ▲▲▼▼◄►◄► B, A, Start Firehawk's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    6,787
    vCash
    115
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: Iron Condor Z
    Do people really like Torque Thrusts?

  9. #9
    Bugzapper gonna zap 5.0THIS's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    36,628
    vCash
    510
    Quote Originally Posted by Firehawk View Post
    Do people really like Torque Thrusts?
    Apparently some do. Although I’m not sure why. Most of the factory wheel options look better.

  10. #10
    #ItsMikeD Lucius Clay's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Pensacola, FL
    Posts
    58,398
    vCash
    208
    I had no idea you could still get Torque Thrust wheels.

  11. #11
    Registered Member Evil87GN's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    on the west side of J-ville, FL.
    Posts
    2,802
    vCash
    500
    Quote Originally Posted by 5.0THIS View Post
    So when is boost going on? I still can’t imagine doing an entire rebuild for just a cam.
    Boost will probably be next year, unless I run across a deal on a used setup. I was going to swap in another stock bottom end and just do cam + bolt ons, but got one helluva deal on the rods/pistons. Normally they are 1800-1900 for the set, I got these for 1300.

  12. #12
    Registered Member Evil87GN's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    on the west side of J-ville, FL.
    Posts
    2,802
    vCash
    500
    Quote Originally Posted by Det.Rice View Post
    Sounds awesome.... wheel though?
    Quote Originally Posted by Firehawk View Post
    Do people really like Torque Thrusts?
    Well, considering I only paid 425 for the set, why the heck not...lol. It also gave me a lot wider footprint out back, which the car desperately needs. The 285's are good for now, but later I can put a 305 or 315 out back and not worry about fitment issues. If it comes down to it, will have the centers powdercoated a dark charcoal gray or maybe black. For now, they do the trick.

  13. #13
    Registered Member Evil87GN's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    on the west side of J-ville, FL.
    Posts
    2,802
    vCash
    500
    Quote Originally Posted by Lucius Clay View Post
    I had no idea you could still get Torque Thrust wheels.
    The original TT Heritage design like I have is a discontinued wheel. AR changed it to the TT2, and they have to be custom ordered for the Challenger/Charger lug pattern. I actually wanted another design, but stumbled over these locally and said F it. I'll probably end up changing my mind by end of the year, and go back to the ones I wanted before. I really wanted the SRT 392 Hyperblack wheels, but even the repops are 300 ea...nope, rather spend that $$ on go fast parts or buy stuff for the house.

  14. #14
    What the cluck? GldRush98's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Springfield, IL.
    Posts
    53,060
    Blog Entries
    1
    vCash
    4714
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: GldRush98 Steam ID: GldRush98
    So how do you tune a scat? I thought Dodge had their shit locked down / encrypted so you couldn't really touch it.

  15. #15
    Registered Member Evil87GN's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    on the west side of J-ville, FL.
    Posts
    2,802
    vCash
    500
    Quote Originally Posted by GldRush98 View Post
    So how do you tune a scat? I thought Dodge had their shit locked down / encrypted so you couldn't really touch it.
    Yep, it's an expensive undertaking just to tune one. Dodge locked the PCM in 2015 and up cars/trucks. You have to either buy a PCM and send off to be unlocked, or send in your OEM unit to be unlocked. Then you can tune with either HP Tuners or Diablo Sport/SCT software. All in all, it's an easy $1k just to tune a '15-up Mopar. Definitely not plug n play like the GM and Ford camps have been for years.
    Last edited by Evil87GN; 05-05-2019 at 09:54 AM.

  16. #16
    What the cluck? GldRush98's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Springfield, IL.
    Posts
    53,060
    Blog Entries
    1
    vCash
    4714
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: GldRush98 Steam ID: GldRush98
    Ah, ok, that's what I was thinking. Kinda silly that Dodge is all performance oriented, yet they make it very difficult to tune their stuff.
    I've heard even the new GM stuff is locked down pretty tight. The guy who tuned my TA was telling me that the new Corvettes have a counter in them and can be remotely flashed by GM, so it's basically impossible to hide anything done on the car.

  17. #17
    Whataburger > * Dr Griswold's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    DFW
    Posts
    106,659
    vCash
    11525
    Quote Originally Posted by GldRush98 View Post
    Ah, ok, that's what I was thinking. Kinda silly that Dodge is all performance oriented, yet they make it very difficult to tune their stuff.
    I've heard even the new GM stuff is locked down pretty tight. The guy who tuned my TA was telling me that the new Corvettes have a counter in them and can be remotely flashed by GM, so it's basically impossible to hide anything done on the car.
    I heard a similar tale about the new F150s. The dealer supposedly can tell how many times the engine has been started and turned off since the last computer flash. Don't know if that's true though

  18. #18
    What the cluck? GldRush98's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Springfield, IL.
    Posts
    53,060
    Blog Entries
    1
    vCash
    4714
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: GldRush98 Steam ID: GldRush98
    Quote Originally Posted by Dr Griswold View Post
    I heard a similar tale about the new F150s. The dealer supposedly can tell how many times the engine has been started and turned off since the last computer flash. Don't know if that's true though
    I wouldn't be at all surprised if it was. The technology to do it has been around since basically OBD2 became standard. It seems they've only recently started getting serious about locking things down.

  19. #19
    Registered Member speed_demon24's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    19,747
    vCash
    25
    Gamer IDs

    PSN ID: spddmn24
    Quote Originally Posted by Dr Griswold View Post
    I heard a similar tale about the new F150s. The dealer supposedly can tell how many times the engine has been started and turned off since the last computer flash. Don't know if that's true though
    It's been that way for awhile. If you tune your car you can safely assume your giving up the power train warranty.

  20. #20
    Registered Member NHRATA01's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    24,151
    vCash
    25
    Quote Originally Posted by speed_demon24 View Post
    It's been that way for awhile. If you tune your car you can safely assume your giving up the power train warranty.
    Yup, GM PCMs have had a checksum counter for a long time. For the diesels and any of the V8 cars, they're pretty much instructed to verify calibration and # of reflashes before proceeding with warranty work.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •