Results 1 to 31 of 31

Thread: Bosch copper plug users

  1. #1
    Patronist esandes's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    5,894
    vCash
    449

    Bosch copper plug users

    Apparently Bosch discontinued copper plugs. I am a fan of their copper trielectrode plugs...super plus.

    So buy up now. I just ordered 24 from Jegs. Best price around btw.

  2. #2
    Registered Member runningmole's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    11,998
    vCash
    1010
    Always used NGK in my non-Mustang vehicles.
    Did recently try Bosch Iridium in gf's Traverse because there was a rebate on them

  3. #3
    Patronist esandes's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    5,894
    vCash
    449
    Copper is the way to go if you have direct injection misfire problems. Trielectrode is even better. I have never had a misfire CEL with these bad boys.

  4. #4
    Whataburger > * Dr Griswold's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    DFW
    Posts
    93,867
    vCash
    6525
    ngk ride or die crue

  5. #5
    Registered Member runningmole's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    11,998
    vCash
    1010
    I'll keep that in mind. Bought the Torque Pro app to monitor the Traverse for misfires. It doesn't have a CEL but there's definitely something going on. Upper intake has to come off to get to the plugs/coils otherwise I'd just do a simple process of elimination.

  6. #6
    Patronist esandes's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    5,894
    vCash
    449
    Quote Originally Posted by Dr Griswold View Post
    ngk ride or die crue
    They just have a single electrode.

  7. #7
    Patronist esandes's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    5,894
    vCash
    449
    Quote Originally Posted by runningmole View Post
    I'll keep that in mind. Bought the Torque Pro app to monitor the Traverse for misfires. It doesn't have a CEL but there's definitely something going on. Upper intake has to come off to get to the plugs/coils otherwise I'd just do a simple process of elimination.
    Copper provides the "hottest" spark. Too bad it's not so accessible for you. Mine are a 5 minute job so I'd rather have the better spark vs longevity.

  8. #8
    Still terrible Nate's4.6's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Clearwater
    Posts
    35,442
    Blog Entries
    2
    vCash
    162
    torque specs?

  9. #9
    What Would Oddjob Do? 5.0THIS's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    26,719
    vCash
    1645
    esandes has become the idareu of spark plugs.

  10. #10
    Patronist esandes's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    5,894
    vCash
    449
    Quote Originally Posted by Nate's4.6 View Post
    torque specs?
    It's written on all plug boxes in case you didn't notice.

    I see what you did there BTW.

  11. #11
    What Would Oddjob Do? 5.0THIS's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    26,719
    vCash
    1645
    Quote Originally Posted by esandes View Post
    It's written on all plug boxes in case you didn't notice.

    I see what you did there BTW.
    You should start a thread about the torque specs on the spark plugs in a Saturn Sky Redline, and how it would effect the performance of the car in a Cruise Control Nationals race.

  12. #12
    Make it three yards... redy2kss's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Northern Kentucky
    Posts
    2,630
    vCash
    25
    Quote Originally Posted by runningmole View Post
    I'll keep that in mind. Bought the Torque Pro app to monitor the Traverse for misfires. It doesn't have a CEL but there's definitely something going on. Upper intake has to come off to get to the plugs/coils otherwise I'd just do a simple process of elimination.
    What kind of problem are you having? I thought our Traverse was having a misfire issue...turned out to be the torque converter.

  13. #13
    DANSBIRD's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Mississippi
    Posts
    161,771
    vCash
    3804
    Quote Originally Posted by Dr Griswold View Post
    ngk ride or die crue
    This. I run Bosch O2 sensors on the T/A though.
    Last edited by DANSBIRD; 11-02-2017 at 09:19 PM.

  14. #14
    Whataburger > * Dr Griswold's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    DFW
    Posts
    93,867
    vCash
    6525
    bosch O2 sensor crue

    - - - Updated - - -

    Sam's club discount gas crue

    - - - Updated - - -

    whataburger expert

  15. #15
    Registered Member runningmole's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    11,998
    vCash
    1010
    Quote Originally Posted by redy2kss View Post
    What kind of problem are you having? I thought our Traverse was having a misfire issue...turned out to be the torque converter.
    Rough while cruising on the freeway. Flat ground, steady state cruising & it feels like a misfire. The tach will move up a few hundred rpm with each "miss." I also thought transmission issues but searches on forums seem to point at a misfire surprisingly. Then again there isn't as much info on these vehicles as say a Mustang/Camaro/Big 3 truck. I also try to search on the Caddy & 6cyl Camaro forums. There was some oil in 5 of the spark plug tubes when I changed the plugs. Firgured chasing a misfire is easiest thing to eliminate. 175k miles on the vehicle.

  16. #16
    DANSBIRD's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Mississippi
    Posts
    161,771
    vCash
    3804
    Quote Originally Posted by Dr Griswold View Post
    bosch O2 sensor crue
    That's what I meant.

    IIRC, I'm running MSD wires.
    Last edited by DANSBIRD; 11-02-2017 at 09:20 PM.

  17. #17
    Make it three yards... redy2kss's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Northern Kentucky
    Posts
    2,630
    vCash
    25
    Quote Originally Posted by runningmole View Post
    Rough while cruising on the freeway. Flat ground, steady state cruising & it feels like a misfire. The tach will move up a few hundred rpm with each "miss." I also thought transmission issues but searches on forums seem to point at a misfire surprisingly. Then again there isn't as much info on these vehicles as say a Mustang/Camaro/Big 3 truck. I also try to search on the Caddy & 6cyl Camaro forums. There was some oil in 5 of the spark plug tubes when I changed the plugs. Firgured chasing a misfire is easiest thing to eliminate. 175k miles on the vehicle.
    Same problem here and we started getting the issue around 171K...zero misfires showing on the Tech II for any cylinder while it is acting up. Get it on a long hill in 5th and try to keep the rpm around 1500 or so...it will probable shudder your teeth out of your head and you may notice a shudder once in a while under light acceleration from a stop. Mine is the 4th Lambda that we have had here at the dealership with converter issues. My brother-in-law and I will be replacing it this weekend.

  18. #18
    Whataburger > * Dr Griswold's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    DFW
    Posts
    93,867
    vCash
    6525
    moog wheel hub crue

  19. #19
    Registered Member runningmole's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    11,998
    vCash
    1010
    Quote Originally Posted by redy2kss View Post
    Same problem here and we started getting the issue around 171K...zero misfires showing on the Tech II for any cylinder while it is acting up. Get it on a long hill in 5th and try to keep the rpm around 1500 or so...it will probable shudder your teeth out of your head and you may notice a shudder once in a while under light acceleration from a stop. Mine is the 4th Lambda that we have had here at the dealership with converter issues. My brother-in-law and I will be replacing it this weekend.
    Pretty much what it does, shudder. Dammit.

  20. #20
    Make it three yards... redy2kss's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Northern Kentucky
    Posts
    2,630
    vCash
    25
    Quote Originally Posted by runningmole View Post
    Pretty much what it does, shudder. Dammit.
    I feel your pain...that's the same reaction I had.

  21. #21
    Registered Member runningmole's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    11,998
    vCash
    1010
    Quote Originally Posted by redy2kss View Post
    I feel your pain...that's the same reaction I had.
    Ever have body control module issues too? Fwiw this is on a 2010

  22. #22
    Make it three yards... redy2kss's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Northern Kentucky
    Posts
    2,630
    vCash
    25
    Quote Originally Posted by runningmole View Post
    Ever have body control module issues too? Fwiw this is on a 2010
    Ours is a 2011. No BCM issues and I really cant think of seeing any pass through here. We have had the typical things...front cover leak, steering gear, water pump (all fixed during the warranty period). This converter issue just kind of snuck up on me. Also have an air inlet actuator knocking under the dash that I need to fix, but that's easy stuff.

  23. #23
    426HEMI's Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    94,671
    vCash
    2275
    Kinda ashamed to admit I've never kept a car long enough to even change the plugs.


    I think the only time I've done it is on farm equipment or my old 63 Chevy truck.

  24. #24
    DANSBIRD's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Mississippi
    Posts
    161,771
    vCash
    3804
    Quote Originally Posted by Dr Griswold View Post
    moog wheel hub crue
    BAM! This, too. Monica.

  25. #25
    Whataburger > * Dr Griswold's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    DFW
    Posts
    93,867
    vCash
    6525
    100 ft lb lug nut tork crue

  26. #26
    Registered Member

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Frisco, TX
    Posts
    4,744
    vCash
    4000
    Quote Originally Posted by Dr Griswold View Post
    moog wheel hub crue
    Timkens for me.

  27. #27
    Whataburger > * Dr Griswold's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    DFW
    Posts
    93,867
    vCash
    6525
    Quote Originally Posted by mattbta View Post
    Timkens for me.
    autozone will price match rock auto

  28. #28
    Registered Member Hawk's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Cedar Hill
    Posts
    1,335
    vCash
    500
    Quote Originally Posted by runningmole View Post
    Rough while cruising on the freeway. Flat ground, steady state cruising & it feels like a misfire. The tach will move up a few hundred rpm with each "miss." I also thought transmission issues but searches on forums seem to point at a misfire surprisingly. Then again there isn't as much info on these vehicles as say a Mustang/Camaro/Big 3 truck. I also try to search on the Caddy & 6cyl Camaro forums. There was some oil in 5 of the spark plug tubes when I changed the plugs. Firgured chasing a misfire is easiest thing to eliminate. 175k miles on the vehicle.
    That's a lot of oil! Bad valve seals?

  29. #29
    Registered Member runningmole's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    11,998
    vCash
    1010
    Quote Originally Posted by Hawk View Post
    That's a lot of oil! Bad valve seals?
    What I've read on Traverse forum is it's the spark tube seals. Others have posted that the tubes are cast in to the head & can't be resealed, but I don't know for sure. 5 of the 6 came out like this. I guess the valve covers can be pulled & maybe the seal at the top of the tube is worn. I just don't want to pull the covers because they don't leak right now 175k on the 3.6 with no major issues until random shuddering recently that I hoped was a misfire.

  30. #30
    Registered Member runningmole's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    11,998
    vCash
    1010
    Quote Originally Posted by redy2kss View Post
    Ours is a 2011. No BCM issues and I really cant think of seeing any pass through here. We have had the typical things...front cover leak, steering gear, water pump (all fixed during the warranty period). This converter issue just kind of snuck up on me. Also have an air inlet actuator knocking under the dash that I need to fix, but that's easy stuff.
    Went for a drive tonight & Torque picked up misfires on cyl 1, 3, 5. Only a few though & they didn't coincide with the shuddering. Makes sense that it's the transmission though since that is on the driver's side. A quick check of the fluid didn't look alarming, still relatively red. The car doesn't really get beaten on and the worst it sees is some stop & go traffic twice a week. Megan had better save her bonus check as wrenching on a tq converter above my ability.

  31. #31
    Patronist esandes's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    5,894
    vCash
    449
    Jegs wrote me back and said the Bosch copper trielectrodes I ordered are discontinued.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •